Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Spawning day

Tosai

Question Spawning day

when do koi fish tend to spawn? what month or what triggers them to start spawning? My fishes don't seem to be interested in spawning now, even though we have a lot of male fishes and only about 2-3 females. 1 is currently bulging pregnant right now.

I need tips, because i'm going to let my fishes breed naturally. i expect them to lay their eggs in the rocks and clay pots i put in, so they won't be able to eat the eggs. I have only 12 kois. so i think i would be able to take the eggs out in time.

i need tips on caring for the frys and i want to know more about when koi fish spawn. do they like warm waters? rainy seasons? etc...

i'm new to this. I have NEVER done any breeding. But once an egg survived until its very big koi fish now. don't know how that happen! it just survived and we noticed it when it was big. they was a real big fluke. so if i help the eggs, i probably make more fishes survive right?

There is no certain month that they spawn. Water temps above 65-70 and a large water change will usually inspire them.

Do you have facilities to raise fry? They need a separate pond. Once they start growing, is your pond large enough to hold them?

Fry are a lot of work.

Allowing them to spawn in the pond is not a good idea. First, you will have what is sometimes called a "flock spawn" meaning the fish will all be poor grade pond mutts. The only way to insure even a reasonable chance at some half-way decent fish is to match trios (one female, two smaller males) of the same variety or compatable varieties.

spawning in your pond will also make a horrible mess of your water quality. Ammonia levels will shoot up, the water quality gets bad in a hurry. Spawning should be done in a separate pond.