Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Koi - acoustic form

Koi - acoustic form

Ian plays guitar,... he's to humble to admit he is very good. I enjoy listening to him play - lately he's on a Beatles kick, I love Black Bird! Anyways, that's not the point of this post... so let me get to it. Not only does Ian play guitar but he's taken an (obsessive) interest in building them. He started his first guitar build several weekends ago. He's a builder by trade and has a natural knack for woodworking. In the past few years most everything Ian has made/built (in his spare time) has had a Koi theme to it. This guitar he's making is no different. I think he's doing a wonderful job and wanted to show off what he's doing - the guitar isn't finished yet but when it's complete I will post a proper picture.

carving for the inlay

... here are some pics of the top/sound board

... top is sitka spruce and the koi & pick guard are black walnut

...and the head piece.

Ian is already planning the second guitar to build,... this first has been quite the learning experience - mostly for me as I watch him do it

Kind Regards,
    Terri

Nisai
    Highly creative, combining three loves (music,woodworking and koi) after the guitar is completed hang it on the wall when not being used.....it will be a work of art.

c

Quote Originally Posted by Ian_&_Terri View Post