Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: beni kumonryu and kumonryu ?

Fry

beni kumonryu and kumonryu ?

hi all i am new to koi and have a few questions. first i would like to say forgive me if the questions r dumb. i like both beni kumonryu and kumonryu and would like to breed koi. my first question is can two beni kumonryu produce kumonryu offspring? seccond could one cross the two or is that not recomended? i know wut to look for in koi but is there somthing special i should look for in these koi? special patterns to look for in young koi or just stick with body conformation? i know their pattern may or will change over time. will the sumi receed on the darker ones or is it there to stay?

Welcome fry. You ask the question of a beginner. Most of us were beginners at one time (there may be a few around here s o old that they predate history!). Breeding koi is easy, you just put them together at the right time and wham youíve got a 100,000. Although I have heard that Kumonryu are hard to breed, K x K or K x bK should yield some K and a lot of other not K. Keeping the babies alive, and picking out a few from the mass is the trick and it is a trick that generations of koi boys have practiced but never perfected. Nonetheless, most koi keepers will give backyard farming a go or two over time, and the most of lessons learned have to be experienced. But I would advise you, donít hurry, read up on what you are planning (there are endless threads here and elsewhere from which you can learn). For most the prime time for spawning this year has passed, but the farms (and Hobbyists) have lots of fingerlings now. If I wanted to raise kumonryu now I would contact one of the established farms, Blackwater comes to mind when I think kumonryu, and see about getting a dozen or so baby ones from them.

Daihonmei