Home | About Us | Contact Us


Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Hakko 120 too much for my pond - trade?

  1. #1
    Tosai
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    17

    Hakko 120 too much for my pond - trade?

    Hello,
    Putting a new pond together, it's all set up and plumbed. I went overkill on the filter size for the ~2500 gallon pond, and maybe went too far with the air pump too. It's a Hakko 120, going only to a single "Koi Toilet 1". When it's running, sometimes the bubble volume is okay, but every so often it burps up a big burst of air that is loud and annoying. Plus I think the air volume is too greatly obscuring visibility, or will, once the fish are in.

    I have maybe 6 hours on this pump and there's nothing wrong with it - on the contrary, am very happy with how quiet it is - but I'm hoping I could find somebody with one of the smaller Hakkos for a trade.

    I also considered putting some kind of restrictor valve on the pump's output, or T'ing it off to atmosphere, but that seems like a waste of air/energy.

  2. #2
    Daihonmei PapaBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Davenport, Oklahoma
    Posts
    6,726
    Do you also have air plumbed to your biofilter? Branching off with a Tee to provide aeration to the biomedia could solve your Pond overkill and improve your bio-reactor function at the same time.

  3. #3
    Daihonmei aquitori's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    NorCal Biotch!!!
    Posts
    9,133
    Do you have a drawing of the pond and filter setup?

    How deep is your pond?

  4. #4
    Oyagoi kingkong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Miami
    Posts
    2,042
    Restricting the air flow would be a no no, bleeding air is a good thing.

  5. #5
    Tosai
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    17
    Pond is rectangular little over 11' long and about 8.5' wide, 4 feet in the middle and 3 feet at the edges. I know, I know, shoulda gone deeper...

    Was sorta space constrained in the filter area, went with this thing:
    AlphaONE 2.50 Filter - AlphaONE Filters

    Got the stainless sieve pre-pump filter thingy and post-filter UV, so it all looks a bit like this:
    http://www.aquabead.com/images/categ...C129medium.jpg

    Pump pulls from koi toilet and 8.5" Savio skimmerfilter, returns to 3 TPR and waterfall.

    Had considered pumping some excess to the filter inlet, not sure how much is too much though, I'm going to guess I have maybe 40 liters (1/3) more than needed, even from an overkill POV.

    All the filter stuff in a pretty tight enclosure as a means of controlling noise, bet it'll get warm in there in the summer, could maybe direct some of the air to the pump motor to help keep things cool??

    Thanks everyone!

  6. #6
    Daihonmei PapaBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Davenport, Oklahoma
    Posts
    6,726
    Check with Gary (GaryCryerTek) about running air to the filter inlet. It may interfere with the solids handling on this filter. Using some of the air as a blower on the motor won't hurt anything, but I don't know if it would really help either. Plumbing it into the return line (post filter) might be an option to consider if you don't come up with a swap on a smaller model.

  7. #7
    Honmei
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    2,744
    You could also use the excess air in a BODAB II style foam fractionator.
    The views presented are my personal views and not that of any organization that I may belong to unless otherwise specified. [email protected]
    CKHPA

  8. #8
    Daihonmei PapaBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Davenport, Oklahoma
    Posts
    6,726
    Quote Originally Posted by schildkoi View Post
    You could also use the excess air in a BODAB II style foam fractionator.
    Now that's a mighty fine idea. Burn off the air and the DOC's in one very efficient fell swoop

  9. #9
    Oyagoi Ethan25's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    West Central Illinois
    Posts
    1,894
    Do you have a quarantine nearby? Hook up a nice sized air diffuser to it and run a line off the pump to your quarantine....extra air for a Quarantine tank is a good idea....

  10. #10
    Sansai
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Deluz, CA
    Posts
    298
    Quote Originally Posted by schildkoi View Post
    You could also use the excess air in a BODAB II style foam fractionator.
    Perhaps a dumb question... what is a BODAB II style FF? I'm familiar with the waterfall type FF that Ethan DIYs.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Cap and trade and our hobby.
    By UP ALL NIGHT!! in forum Outside
    Replies: 85
    Last Post: 07-01-2009, 10:29 PM
  2. Cap and trade and our hobby.
    By UP ALL NIGHT!! in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 06-29-2009, 09:29 AM
  3. Which air pumps is better, Pondmaster or Hakko?
    By mvt in forum Pond Construction
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 10-25-2008, 07:29 PM
  4. Hakko
    By JanT in forum Pond Construction
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-16-2008, 03:06 PM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-10-2008, 01:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Articles - Sitemap - FAQs and Rules

KB Footer Graphic
Straight from Japan... For the serious hobbyist!
All content and images copyright of: Koi-bito.com