Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Q: What is the best koi food brand for Color & Growth?

Question Q: What is the best koi food brand for Color & Growth?

Since I am new at raising koi, I would like to know what your opinions are. What brand can improve kois' growth and color? Cool

You'll get a lot of opinions on this as there are MANY high quality feeds available in different places. The entire Hikari line of foods is highly respected, the EA line is relatively new as is Tomigai, but both are well liked by those who've reported results from them. No doubt you'll get other ideas from people who've used others.

What is important is to recognize the right feed and quantity for growth and health at each stage of life and for your conditions. What you feed and how much will change with temperature and water conditions.
    Larry Iles
    Oklahoma

It seemingly is a simple enough question yet so much of what you ask depends on many other factors. Is the food fed in the right amount and at the right protein % for the temperature. Is the water quality and oxygen content at it's best to help with digestion.

I'm convinced that foods that have helpful bacteria for digestion (pro-biotics) added in the food help the Koi get the most out of what is fed and minimise the waste they produce that the Bio-Filter has to then deal with.

I'll let other exstol the virtues of different name brand foods......just remember no matter what you end up using, it's only as good as you keeping it sealed, out of the harmful UV rays and moisture. So many buy expensive food and let it set out pondside in the full sun, or inexplicably do not reseal the bag properly or do not use something like tupperware to preserve it's freshness.

Dick Benbow

My butterfly koi is about 5-6 in. Water temperature is about 77 degrees. What do you all recommend how many hikari pellets I feed per day?