Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What is the best koi food for growth?

What is the best koi food for growth?

hi guys

What is the best koi food for growth(brand name)?

Can u guys share me your feeding regime? Do u guys feed your fish 100% growth food in summer months or do u guys mix it up? if u mix it up how many % growth/color food do u feed them? what do u thing about Saki Hikari do u guys have a good result in this koi food?

Im new in this hobby and this is my first growing season so please help me..tnx

alvin

Jumbo
    Alvin

There is no definitive answer to your questions.

Koi breeders here in Japan follow different feeding regimes, some maybe feed twice a day, others feed 6 times a day with autofeeders, others use on demand feeders, some feed just once a day. Add to that some feed floating pellets and some feed sinking pellets, and of course there are a number of brands that are used.

I don't think that you'll go far wrong with Saki Hikari, it is very highly rated by Japanese breeders.

Your question is a common one, at least once a year, and you'll find a wealth of opinions, as opposed to answers, in the archive of this forum using the search function.

Mark
    Mark Gardner

Along the same lines as Mark... All of the major brands have a 'growth formula' pellet. These have higher levels of protein and often higher levels of fat. I don't think you can go wrong with any of them. I use a mix of pellets. When the pond finally gets over 74F, I will be feeding a mix of Hikari Growth, Hi-Silk and a little Saki Hikari. I would like to add some EA Show to the mix, but storage is an issue for me this year. Perhaps later in the year.

Daihonmei
    well, lets think about this logically instead of commercially---

For a koi to grow like the ones we see in Nichirin Magazine, they need the following;