Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Quarantine Process?

Tosai

Quarantine Process?

Hello, I'm relatively new to koi keeping, and ordered a 7 in butterfly koi over the internet for the first time, which I expect tomorrow. I'm wondering what to do about quarantine. I've read about so many conflicting approaches, and I just feel overwhealmed by the ammount of differing information. Does anyone here have any recommendations? I have a medium-sized pond that is pretty deep (around 5 feet deep) with several koi I've had ranging from 4 years to a few months, and several good-sized comet and shubunkin goldfish. I've always quarantined any new fish in the past, putting them inside, into about a 40+ gal tank with a simple filter and a little pond salt, for 2-3 weeks, adding more and more pond water as the time goes by. Is this helpful or harmful? I'm particularly concerned about the temperature change from inside, to a deep outside pond...I've never ordered a koi online before (my others came from local dealers and friends) and so I'm nervous and anxious about giving my new addition the best acclaimation possible. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!!!

Everyone has their own idea of QT. Since you're ordering online, I'd take an even greater cautious approach, especially if you ordered from eBay.

My QT is quite lengthy but I'm anal about my collection.

I just received 3 new koi about 3 weeks ago. They went into QT, covered tightly, and will stay there till next Spring. They will go through our hot Louisiana summer and then winter and Spring in QT. I'm relatively certain they are KHV free but one can't take too many chances.