Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Small lemon doitsu koi gone nocturnal

Nisai

Small lemon doitsu koi gone nocturnal

I'm just getting started, and I put 6 ~5" koi in my 2400 gal pond 2 wks ago.
    1 Hirenaga Kujaku (the alpha)
    1 Hirenaga Ginrin Hi Utsuri
    1 Hi Utsuri
    1 Ki Utsuri
    1 Ginrin Chagoi
    1 Doitsu Lemon Hariwake (the runt)
    I was fortunate enough to run into someone who was looking to rehome a nice 16" 4 step Kohaku, so I put her in my pond a week ago. She is so much bigger than everyone else, that she displaced the existing school from the fish cave I installed in the pond for them to hide in, and she is more like Alpha and Omega to the rest than she is Alpha. Shortly after placing her in the pond the Lemon Doitsu Hariwake just disappeared. I thought the Kohaku had certainly eaten it. After three days of never seeing the little fish I was even more certain it was deceased. Then to my surprise when I had my first algae bloom take off and cloud my pond from clear to nearly opaque in 1 day I saw the little lemon doitsu dart out, swim a bit and then dart up under a rock. I got the algae cleared up, but in the last few days my only sightings of the fish have been after sunset, and the fish is so paranoid it doesn't dare feed on the surface. I'm not sure if it has a somewhat irrational fear of the new fish, or it is hiding from the sun because of its fair complexion and has become antisocial. Given that it never comes out during feeding time, and I haven't seen it eat anything in over a week, can it survive much longer? Is it eating fish poop or what? I'm wondering if I should attempt to capture it and bulk it up in some kind of temporary enclosure. Any explanations or suggestions?

Meg