Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What makes a Koi a pretty addition to a pond?

What makes a Koi a pretty addition to a pond?

Hello everyone,

I am new to this hobby and I enjoy it very much, everyday there is something new to be learned about these fish. because I am a begginer i have a hard time picking out (or even looking at a fish when its young) a fish that would look nice as it grows bigger. I am not really picky, but I do like having individual looking fish that I am able to distinguish apart. I like the doitsu variety, because of their neat looking scale pattern.. but im not sure if that kind of fish will look nice when it is big as when it is 6inches or so. I would like some of your advices as what to look for when purchasing cheap koi that are kept for begginers and are not for any showing purposes.

There is an old saying in this hobby that "Koi begin and end with Kohaku".
    That doesn't mean there is nothing in the middle. Only that the Kohaku variety is usually what draws the eye first and in the end what the experienced eye comes to appreciate most for their simple grace and beauty.
    A pond that has a lot of RED in it (Gosanke varieties of Kohaku, Sanke, Showa) is called a "Happy Pond". Having a little yellow (yamabuki ogon) and basic black and white (Shiro Utsuri or Bekko) add an accent to highlight the simple elegance and grace of a hobbyist pond.

What to AVOID is really more important than what to get.
    One of the easiest traps to fall into is to want "one of EVERYTHING!"
    You can overload a pond SO fast (and easy) that it would make your head spin. Before you even realize it you've got more fish than water, your filtration is struggling to keep up, you are fighting water and health problems, and the pond is an unfocused and confused looking mishmash of jumbled color that is more clash than serenity.