Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Nexus Problem

Nexus Problem

I'm having a problem with a nexus where the water in the internal chamber will be a lot higher than the one in the bio outer chamber. After cleaning the static chamber it's OK with about 1-2" of difference but by the end of the next day there will be a significant diff. in the water level in both chambers. If I don't clean it for 2 days, the water feeding the pump in the outer chamber will be minimal where if I were to leave it for another day with out cleaning it will starve the pump.

I've been using the same sequence pump for the last 5 years so it not that the pump is too strong for it.

Any ideas???

Need to fix this issue b/f I leave on a trip...
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Nexus Problem-picture-450.jpg  

I have had two different things cause this. The first is the obvious.... too much algae glarf gets captured by the central EAzy unit resulting in insufficient flow to the outer chamber. The solution is to either get used to frequent cleanings or modify your system to capture more waste in a settlement chamber or sieve before the water gets to the Nexus.

I suspect your problem may be caused by the other thing that's happened to me. The K-1 gets caught between the inner and outer chambers in the "kiss-points" down inside the Nexus unit. The solution is to turn off the pump and let both chambers fill up, and turn off all air. Then insert the pipe used to cut-off the connection between the chambers, like you do when you 'boil' the EAzy. Then empty the central chamber. Then remove the pipe so water from the outer chamber floods into the central chamber. This will 'backwash' K-1 caught in the "kisspoints" into the central chamber... along with a bunch of gunk. You'll see the K-1 in the central pipe connecting the chambers. (Return it to outer chamber where it belongs.)