Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Torazo Kohaku Judging

Torazo Kohaku Judging

I was wondering if anyone can help me pick out the pros and cons of these Torazo's kohakus because I am debating which one I should. The first one is 20 inches and the second is 19 inches. Thanks for ur feedback!!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Torazo Kohaku Judging-torazo1.jpg   Torazo Kohaku Judging-torazo2.jpg  

Tosai
    The second Kohaku remind me so much of my own Torazo Kohaku. Torazo Koi
    In this case of yours, I would like to go for the second Kohaku (the one on the right).
    Although tail stop (odome) and beni on the head hits the right eye, I just have a feeling the beni quality is better than the other.
    It's just my personal opinion.

Sansai
    Personally I much prefer the first left hand fish. Better body shape and much more pleasing distribution of Beni.
    I am however a total beginner about koi appreciation - so feel free to ignore me.
    But I do know what I like

The different camera angles affect how the bodies are perceived. The two seem quite alike in body form and are at the same stage of development. The one on the right appears to have more even Beni, but that could be the lighting. The red on the eye of the one on the right is a negative for me. Altogether, I'd select the one on the right based on these photos alone, but really would want to see in person.

Daihonmei
    So Torazo no longer makes torazo sanke! And the kohaku are different lines from other folks. He is as VERY gifted breeder just as his father was. Thats for sure. But as he son will share with you, he uses others lines now and puts his own mark on the past few generations of koi that come from his efforts.