Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Odd Behavior by Karasugoi

Fry

Odd Behavior by Karasugoi

Hello. I'm new to this, so bear with me. We have about a 4,000 pond with two waterfalls. We have what we believe is a Karasugoi koi, 6 or 7 years old, who for the last year and a half has been exhibiting some very odd behavior. I've attached a link to a video I put on You Tube because it's very hard to explain! He does "laps" around the pond 1/3 to 1/2 above water vertically. Prior to doing this he'll come to the surface and take a gulp of air, then go back down, gain speed, then come up and do his thing. Seems to do it any time of day, any temperature. Slows down some in winter, but doesn't stop entirely. More often than not he ends up crashing against the rocks, and losing some of his scales showing white underneath. His belly over the last year has turned quite a bit more orange. We've been told it's parasites, we've been told it's mating behavior. We've treated, twice now, with MinnFinn and it seems to make no difference in his odd behavior. He eats normally and other than this, pretty much behaves normally. If anyone has any ideas at all, I'd love your input! It's quite entertaining, but we'd love to know what it is.
    Shadow does back flip.mp4 - YouTube

Thanks for any help!

Fry
    My guess would be flukes

Daihonmei
    Never saw that extreme a reaction before? I have seen head shaking and breaking the surface but this behavior really is extreme. Still, I'd do a gill scaping and see if parasites are present. Just scape some slime off the area behind the gill plate, spread the slime on a microscope slide and look under the scope for movement. There are many books and websites with pictures of the various parasites that cause fish to react violently when being damaged by the activity of those parasites. best of luck, JR

Fry