Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Koi fry in mudpond

Koi fry in mudpond

My koi fry are almost one month old and about 1 to 1 1/2 inches long at present.
    My question is if it is normal for the kohaku fry to look like Kigoi with white patches on them?
    They are all bred from Japanese parents and I realise to find show quality amongst them would be very rare.
    So my question is if it is normal for the fry to have a more orange than red colour at this age?
    Another question : AT what age can showa fry be culled taking patern into account as all mine look like black fry with some purple blotches inbetween.
    They are not fed any colour enhancing food at the moment.
    This is my first try at breeding so any comments would be greatly appreciated. :shock: :shock:
    Jaco Vorster
    South Africa

Dick Benbow posted info on kohaku fry on Dec. 20 in the Developing Sanke thread. Sounds like yours are doing just right for their age.

Hey Jaco!
    Haven't seen a post from you in a while. good to hear from you!

Kohaku babies should be like ki-hakus, that is the beni should be yellow.

when those koi get up about 3-4 inches you'll see some oranger beni,and
    some patterns you diddn't see earlier. if you can separate them according to size, cause the big ones keep getting bigger and they dominate the food over thier mates! that would be in your interest.

usually with showa fry I select for kohaku pattern as many times the black
    is not available for a while. they are usually up around 3-4 inches. I have had beautiful 3-4 step red patterns as fry only to have them develop black patterns especially around the tail stop and completely cover the last red spot! Oh well...makes you appreciate a good one when you get one!
    good luck with your effort and keep us posted. Maurice, a frequent poster
    on this site has done an excellent job of breeding and hopefully he will add