Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sick Koi

Fry

Sick Koi

I am a novice to Koi care. I have 2 Koi in a 3,000 gallon pond. One of them has been lying under a water plant, near the surface and move around infrequently. I do not know how to diagnose the problem nor how to cure it. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

john Mellon

MCA
    I would ask a Koi Health Advisor associated with my local club (or nearby club) to come over and help diagnose the problem. If a KHA is not available, get the most experienced koi keeper you can find. It could be any combination of water conditions, filtration, aeration, parasites, or an internal problem with one of the koi. With the results of water quality test and examination of the fish (including scrape and scope using a microscope) you can start to diagnose the problem(s) and then, and only then, can you arrive a treatment options.

Long term...get a good water quality test kit and metric the water at least once a week. Also get a microscope and get someone to show you how to scrape and scope a fish for parasites. There are several good koi health books available.
    Koi keeping is not a belief system; it is applied science with a touch of artistry.

John, welcome to our board. wish your appearance could have been under more enjoyable circumstances.

Just as a Dr always has you come in to be diagnosed, it's difficult to diagnose a problem over a chat line.

MCA's suggestions are good ones. It would be best to have someone educated
    that could make a house call.

I think you'll learn that we all started our learning curve with problems that taught us lessons about health for our wet pets.

Knowing the exact number of gallons in your pond is a must to be able to administer medication in the right doseage.
    Dick Benbow

Fry

Sick Koi

Quote Originally Posted by jmellon View Post