Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Project Koi Kin

Tategoi

Project Koi Kin

Hello Members of Koi Bito,

First of all, I don't know if this is allowed on this forum, if it is not then please remove it and please take this as an apology in advance.

I'm starting a project and I would like your help. Project "Koi Kin" is going to be a database dedicated for koi (and maybe other animals in the future) and I would like to get your inputs, thoughts, ideas, comments and encouragement to help me build a very nice koi database.

Goal: A FREE koi database for the world to use, view and will be online.
    *It would be an honor if real breeders use this database.

Reason: I have been on this forum for about 2.5 years now and have grown a lot in this hobby. This is something that I can offer to the koi hobby and it will greatly benefit it.

Check it out:

Kintree
    Kintree
    Kintree
    Kintree

Background: I'm a programmer with very little web design knowledge. I will be using Ruby on Rails to develop this website and I do have the data model mapped out.

Future wants: Funding, ideas, help, testers and anything else.

Thank you everyone for reading this and for the support. Right now the data are not linked together. I will eventually link the koi to breeders, koi to snapshots and snapshots and koi to photo.

I want the snapshot to be a timeline of the koi as we all know that koi changes as they grow. This is so that the user can update their koi with photos, comments and more.

Again, my intention is to offer a free koi database.

Thanks
    Kou Chang
    Akitsushima Tombo

It could be something for a hobby breeder over many generations. I am not sure of the value of the application in Koi in Japan or worldwide. However, in Australia, 90% of the koi hobby is backyard bred and it might have some value. It looks to need a good deal development work, but would be interested to provide some input.