Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Phosphoric acid to lower ph?

Sansai

Phosphoric acid to lower ph?

Recently, my friend, an arowana (scleropages formosus) hobbyist, told me that to lower ph in his pond, he has constantly been using phosphoric acid. And after all these years (4 years to be exact), there is no visible harm to the fish.

I wonder if this acid can also be used in koi pond! Any comment, please.

I have some experience using phosphoric acid, but not with koi. Used with care it can be successfully employed to help alter water parameters to match the low mineral content, soft, acidic water of rainforest waterbodies. However, the phosphorous acts as a fertilizer and will contribute to algae blooms etc. It is not reliable with high alkalinity water, and results in many pH fluctuations dangerous to fish. I ceased using it long ago and substituted rainwater in which sphagnum moss had soaked for a few weeks to create soft, acidic water for aquarium species needing those conditions. [Gave them up eventually because simply too much work.]

I do not believe the water for koi should be treated to alter pH unless the pH is so high as to be wholly unsuitable. That is rarely true. If that is the case, as much as I love koi, I'd have to recommend keeping other species. In the tropics, a pond of african cichlids would be a beautiful sight ... not koi, but one can learn to appreciate other things. Eventually, the pH fluctuations will cause serious problems. Stability is more important than "perfect" pH.

Oyagoi
    What Mike said is true. Phosphoric acid is a commonly used source of phosphate for fish ponds used for rearing fish larvea to fry.

I'd not use it in any pond subject to any sunlight or other light source as phosphate is usually the limiting nutrient and will cause an algal bloom from hell in a nitrate rich environment.