Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By nivek

Thread: Showa Eye Damaged - all the (retina) black smashed into bits and pieces

Nisai

Showa Eye Damaged - all the (retina) black smashed into bits and pieces

Hi , I have a showa with a smashed eye the retina looks completely smashed into pieces , but still moves and everything
    but the fesh does not seems to be responding to stimuli fon that side ,so i guess its gone blind
    it is eating well .

Its from the Koi bito dealer in India . rest of all my Koi are are doing well in the pond. Right now its moved into a hospital tank glass tank .
    is there any chance of the eye going back to normal
    Should i put the Showa on antibiotics just to ensure there is no infection .or could this be some kind of a Viral/Fungal infection .PLS help . This is my first koi buy from Koi Bito and i am not an expert . so all pls help andShowa Eye Damaged - all the (retina) black smashed into bits and pieces-dscn0822.jpg it will be much appreciated .

This appears to be a physical injury to the eye of the koi. It could be a birth defect. The photo is not clear, but I see nothing indicating an infection. So, I would not treat with antibiotics. I have seen similar problems on other koi on a few occasions. The condition did not improve. As you have observed, the koi can get by with the vision of just one eye.