Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Asagi spawning - which fry to keep

Asagi spawning - which fry to keep

Hi AllAs some of you might know I am an amateur breeder and take please in spawing and raising my koi.I recently spawned an asagi female with a showa and a kohaku male.Fact is I have plenty of fry.What do you think the permutations will be from this?I note I have yellow and black fry - are the black one asagi and showa? what about goshiki?Any help would be appreciated

Quote Originally Posted by [email protected] View Post
    Hi AllAs some of you might know I am an amateur breeder and take please in spawing and raising my koi.I recently spawned an asagi female with a showa and a kohaku male.Fact is I have plenty of fry.What do you think the permutations will be from this?I note I have yellow and black fry - are the black one asagi and showa? what about goshiki?Any help would be appreciated
    In my very limited experience, you are going to get lots of magoi. Once the fry reach about 4 cm., I suspect most of the "black ones" will look like magoi.

Magoi picture from koibitz.com.

I think we will need to hear from some of our Aussie friends to get a full picture.