Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Koi spawn

Tosai

Koi spawn

Hi a couple of my koi spawned this morning on to brushes, how long do i keep the brushes in the pond for? And when will they start to hatch??
    This is my first year of koi keeping so please help.

Callum, I think you want to dip them in some methelyn blue to keep it from getting fungus etc. Maurice and or Jacover or other may know more. I ain't a breeder yet. LOL

Joe

Callum, some good advice from maurice on his website about breeding does and don'ts. Here is his website... http://koi-uk.co.uk/experimental_spawning.htm

Joe

Hi Callum,
    congratulations for your first spawn! Time to hatch depends on water temperature, but usually ranges from 4 to 6 days. You can leave the spawning ropes for a while after hatching, providing they can't start releasing any undesirable compound. I still have the ropes in one of my breeding tanks and the spawning took place on 7th of april. Ropes provide shelter for the fry, besides there are lots of protozoan and algae thriving on the ropes after just a week.

Last year I treated the spawn with Sera Mycopur, a mixture of Acriflavin, copper salts and something else. Just to stop fungus. Besides, I had filtration and UV clarifier on all the time.
    Well, I discovered there is no reason to care that much about fungus. The real problem is to have lots of live food to rear the fry.
    When they start feeding, Artemia nauplii are to big for them.