Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Japanaese

Nisai

Japanaese

I am thinking of learning Japanese to aid my Koi education if / when i visit Japan for a Koi harvest in the future hopefully.

As i have no real concept of wether the language used in the real world is what is taught i am after some advice.

Where is the best palce to go? Are the linguaphone style tapes any good?

OR,

Should i be looking into going to a night school?

I am based in the UK in Rugby.

Thanks,

Quote Originally Posted by greg
    I am thinking of learning Japanese to aid my Koi education if / when i visit Japan for a Koi harvest in the future hopefully.

As i have no real concept of wether the language used in the real world is what is taught i am after some advice.

Where is the best palce to go? Are the linguaphone style tapes any good?

OR,

Should i be looking into going to a night school?
    Greg,

A very admirable pursuit. I started learning Japanese to enhance my koi vocabularly as well, and become committed to learning more. There's much more to learn than what you'll hear in the classroom, and especially on tapes. How you speak in Japanese depends a lot on who you're talking to, and not just the tone of voice you take. There is indeed much to learn.

On top of that, koi are indeed a very regional thing, so you have accents to contend with as well. Some of these are indiscerning to the native ear as well. There's one particular small breeder in Hiroshima who I still have a hard time understanding, even after knowing him for more than 6 years! That's how thick the accents can be out in the sticks sometimes. The more well-heeled breeders usually try and speak Hyo-jun-go (standard Japanese) to the foreigners that make the effort to use Japanese.