Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Need Advice

Fry

Question Need Advice

Hello everyone, this is my first post. I'm a toatl rookie when it comes to Koi. Ijust installed a pond several weeks ago ( 8'w x 10'L x 30d ). I purchased 2 koi, not sure of the variety, from a local store they have been in the pond for 6 days, they are not eating the food that I provide. The water temp is an average 66 degrees. Any help/ advice would be great. Thanks Mike

Your biological filter is not mature yet, and the koi will help to mature the filter, but if you have a friend that has a koi pond get some established filter from them to help seed the filter and then the pond should be good in a couple of day for the koi. It is best to start out with some goldfish to help get the filter ready for koi. You might loose the koi because your filter is not ready,

Another thing is are you on city water or well, if city water you need to put chimical in water to get rid of chol. Koi and goldfish will die if it is not taken out of water, also do you have a ph test kit?

Your koi may just be scared and not used to the enviroment and you, I would remove the koi into a small kiddie pool and keep clean water in the pool, change everyday untill your pond is more established, add some cheap goldfish to help this along and then in a week or two put the koi back into the pond if the goldfish live.

Judy

Hello Mike

Welcome to KoiBito forum.

First of all, do you have a filter on your pond. If not, you need one.

If you do have a filter running, as KFG said, itīs not working very well yet. Make sure you check ammonia, nitrite, nitrate and ph. Also, feed very little, and change water frequently. Make sure the water you use to top up the pond is suitable for your koi to live in.