Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: # of GC contenders

Sansai

# of GC contenders

how many koi in the USA could be shown and be legitamate contenders for a GC? and how many owners does that represent?

i know that this might sound like a stupid question to many, but i am new to koi keeping and i am under the impression this is a very rare fish and there are not many around.

Hey . . .

why don't you check with Charlie_23456 and see what his thoughts on the matter are -- since you two are so "close" that should be easy enough to do!

There are so many in the USA you'd be amazed. believe it or not alot of koi kichi's do not show yet have killer koi. I know of the same situation in the UK.
    Ask any japanese dealer where the majority of the koi go including their best.
    When i started koi close to three decades ago they all stayed at home....now 3/4 of the product goes outside of Japan, including so incredible national fish.

Sansai
    Quote Originally Posted by KoiCop
    why don't you check with Charlie_23456 and see what his thoughts on the matter are -- since you two are so "close" that should be easy enough to do!
    yeah, but i get tired of talking to myself. plus, he aint no smarter than i am!

Every show has a GC. With that said if you take that koi to another show on the exact same day in the exact same condition (which is impossible but just a hypothetical). It might not even place among the contenders in that show. It's all relative to what shows up at the show.
    Koi-Unit
    My personal koi page Updated 7/8/07
    ZNA Potomac Koi Club

Sansai
    Quote Originally Posted by jnorth
    Every show has a GC. With that said if you take that koi to another show on the exact same day in the exact same condition (which is impossible but just a hypothetical). It might not even place among the contenders in that show. It's all relative to what shows up at the show.