Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: keeping koi in fiberglass tank

Tosai

keeping koi in fiberglass tank

hi koi lover..

i am new in koi keeping , now i keep my koi in a fiberglas tank with dimension of 1.5m(wide) x 2m(long) x 1m(depth)...i only fill the water untill 80 cm deep...and now i have about 10 koi, the smallest is 12cm and the bigest is aout 30cm...and i already check the ph, amonia, gh, nitrate and everything is fine....my question is :
    - how big can the koi grow in fiber glass tank ??
    - can it grow as big as the koi in the pond ??
    - do any of you guys ever keep a koi in a fiberglass tank ??..if yes can you give my some pointer

Hey, welcome to the board....

May I ask how long you've had them in there?....

adreamer2

Tosai
    i've had them around 5 months, here i att my tank...this is when i'am just starting, so the water is very green, now is already clear...and i also att one of my koi...maybe you guys can give some comment...

thank you
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails keeping koi in fiberglass tank-att.jpg   keeping koi in fiberglass tank-mykoi.jpg  

Hi Kasuma, welcome on board, your Girin Oshiba Shigure looks really nice, not
    very conventional with the patern of the soragoļ, and nice body shape.

Your tank and filtration looks really too small for so many fish, if they grow, you'll probably have some trouble with the water quality and then they 'll be hill and some will die.
    Normally you should have only a couple of koļ in such space.
    But al lot of us starts like that, so the first question is : Could it be possible to find some more place for them ?
    Marco

Jumbo

Tank fish