Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Water Change

Water Change

With the upcoming spring I will need to change my water frequently. This is the first spring with my new pond which holds much more water. I plan on changing 15-25% of my water every 4 to 5 days in the spring until my filter can balance itself. My question is..... Will over the counter cholrine remover be effective in removing around 1000 gallons of water per change. I know the skin membrane of the koi is senstive in spring and do not want to irritate the skin. Any thoughts???

ST,

I'm no expert but any answer would depend on the number/size of fish you have in that 5000 gals. I'm thinking water temp in spring in Michigan is not very warm, so not that much feeding as well. Therefore if your fish load is light to reasonable then I think 25% is too much. You might want to think about bacteria seeding products, there are some available retail, which may help you thru the startup cycle faster.

I use Ultimate at the moment, but it's kinda expensive, so I'm looking into just photochemical grade 'sodium thyophosphate' (I think it's called that, and I'm sure it not spelled like that!).

John

Tosai

Sodium Thiosulfate...

Sodium Thiosulfate is much cheaper way to dechlorinate the tap water.

Quote Originally Posted by kdmatrix
    Sodium Thiosulfate is much cheaper way to dechlorinate the tap water.
    yup - I have been used Sodium Thiosulfate for the last 7 years and so far so good for me....

Seefdro:

If your water has no chloramine, then using ST should be fine. You might try acquiring the dry form in bulk to lower your overall cost long term.