Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Water Evaporation In Cold Weather

Water Evaporation In Cold Weather

I have been experience some heavy water loss to evaporation in the cold weather we're having in Japan. I have 2 small 100 gal starter tanks for a couple 500 yen baby koi. The tanks are outside in a covered patio and I have heaters running 24/7 to keep water warmer at 55-60 degrees (outside is approx. 30-40 degrees). I have been noticing at least between a 1/2" TO 3/4" drop in water level every 1-2 days. Is this right? I checked for leaks and none found. Anyone experience similar conditions? Thanks.

Carl

I'm no expert, Carl, but if you're still running a filter and pump, evaporation is common especially if the cycle is pretty heavy.....

I experience this on a daily basis myself... I have two tanks going also... and I find myself replacing water every two days.....

My two tanks are not very big, much the same as yours... I guess if your tank was larger you [we] wouldn't have this problem..... ((I have an indoor pond much larger which is waiting for the outdoor guys to come in for treatment..))

Sounds like your stock for that size tank is a bit much... Yeah.. you can expect that.....

adreamer2
    Adreamer2,
    gmcfayden,
    N2Koi
    -----------
    Alas, I have found my feat.. and am about to run!

Sansai

evaporation

There is quite a lot of evaporation when the water is much warmer than the air. I have a pond in a greenhouse, and it is positively raining inside. If it didn't recycle in that way, I am sure that I would lose an inch or two a day.

Honmei

A couple of things

The colder the air, the drier it becomes typically, especially when the air is below freezing. Dry air will "extract" moisture from its surroundings. Temperature difference will stimulate this even further as heat is transfered as well.

Steve

Oh yeah... Especially when it is warm....

adreamer2