Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Koi surgery ...research project

Koi surgery ...research project

I was recently contacted and asked the following....
    I am a producer with CBC Radio in Toronto and I am researching a story on fish surgery.
    As you may know, there is a growing field of research as far as surgical procedures for fish, and I am trying to find a Canadian fish owner whose fish have gone under the knife.

There is a vet in Buffalo, Dr. Helen Roberts, who is a pioneer in terms of fish surgery, so I'm wondering if you know f anyone who has thought of using services such as hers, or if there are any vets in Canada who are experimenting with fish surgery.
    If Canadian KoiBito members have any input/experiences with their fish under going surgery or know of any vets practicing please post here... I will email this threads link to the producer so she may view your replies.

Not to limit the responsed here I believe any KoiBito member who has had their koi undergo surgery should post to this as it would help with the over all research for this story.

Thank you!

Terri

No surgury here, but

Are you talking about general surgury (removing tumors, cysts, egg impaction, etc...) or plastic surgury, fin repairs? It may get you different resposes.

I should think general surgeries would be the main objective over all ... but it would peek interest to some that people would go to lengths of "cosmetic" surgery for fish

This topic could be an eye opener for many vets here in Canada and hopefully open some doors for hobbyists, very very few seriously entertain the thought of treating fish that are considered pets by the owners.

Nisai
    We have a vet in Minnesota who specializes in fish and has done a couple of surgeries, Auntiesue had one done on her Koi. I'll let her know about this thread & hopefully she will respond.