Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: A friendly reminder for Koi hobbyists.

Fry

A friendly reminder for Koi hobbyists.

-
    I've been keeping kois for about 6 years now with my dad. He does most of the work, but I've saved the day several times. We've had our casualties now and but not in the last 2 years.

A few months ago, I saw my Mom hanging several orchid pots over the settlement tank filter. I asked her to remove them fearing contaminated water may harm the fish. She did move them.

This morning, my Dad told me there are four dead fish. We looked at them and tried to think of all the different scenarios: air, water quality, sickness, food from China, old age... But nothing made sense. I would have blamed the food if it were from China and settled at at, but it was made in Minessota.

I walked away feeling a bit sad, but still thinking of the cause. Sometime later, I was reminded of the hanging orchids and came out to check. Sure enough, there were about a dozen orchids hanging over the settlement tank filter. Some of the orchids were just purchased. I would think nurseries use a consistent regiment of fertilizer to keep their plants so healthy. And derived that the water drained into the pond and killed the fish. I am 55% on this.

I hope my lesson may help you deal with your pond. Try not to let other people get in the way of problem prevention and good judgement. This is an expensive hobby, but it's not the money to us when our kois pass. They were my pets and I feel attached to them.

...but you may use money to reason with potential problems.

24" kohaku
    24" kohaku
    26" matsuba with white head
    28" ginrin ochiba
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails A friendly reminder for Koi hobbyists.-kois.jpg  

Sorry for your lost, as a koi hobbyist most of us have gone through once or twice, and learn from our mistake, mine was overcrowding.

An