Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What shower media do you use?

What shower media do you use?

what is that good, cheap, light weight shower media?

I bought a three US plastics crates, 11 x 15" x 4' long that I need to fill. Michael suggested bioballs and at this point that's my only option but they are a little pricey.

Nisai
    kntry,

According to the products page in Koi Nations, Ultimate Aquariums are selling bio balls for $69.95 for a case of 3,000 1.5 inch balls which they claim is ~3 cubic feet.

The details given are phone (248) 854-9911 or [email protected].

I have no knowledge of these guys or whether their product is good for showers, but their price seems better than some.

Daihonmei
    I use lava rock and believe it is superior to everything except Bakki, and is equal to that

thanks Roger. There's a company on eBay who sells 40 gallons of 1 inch balls for $190. This should be enough to do all three crates if I don't feel them to the top.

approximately 250, 1" balls have a surface area of approximately 21.5 sq. ft. Larger balls have less surface area.

Luke, I agree that's what I used in my shower before. the problem is it's too heavy. It was okay in the little Pepsi crates but I wouldn't be able to pick up these big crates.

Daihonmei
    Quote Originally Posted by kntry View Post
    thanks Roger. There's a company on eBay who sells 40 gallons of 1 inch balls for $190. This should be enough to do all three crates if I don't feel them to the top.

Luke, I agree that's what I used in my shower before. the problem is it's too heavy. It was okay in the little Pepsi crates but I wouldn't be able to pick up these big crates.
    when are you gonna have to pick them up...i loaded mine after they were in place.

MCA
    ...and 1" bioballs have more surface per cubic foot than 1.5" bioballs. That is why I went for the 1" size.