Home | About Us | Contact Us


Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Source Water Ammonia

  1. #1
    Nisai
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    117

    Source Water Ammonia

    I have been reading the Ammonia levels on my source water and they have been consistently around 1.5 PPM -- Quite high in my opinion.

    Just wanted to survey the rest of the folks here to see what level of Ammonia they are seeing in their source water from their Tap.

  2. #2
    Daihonmei MikeM's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    11,128
    That is high IMO... very high. My source water has no detectable ammonia.

  3. #3
    Nisai
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    117
    I agree Mike. This really concerns me. My filters have to work overtime to just get rid of the Ammonia from water changes - not to mention what the fish produce. I think I might be better off reducing the water changes for now until I get a handle on this source water issue.

  4. #4
    Daihonmei PapaBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Davenport, Oklahoma
    Posts
    6,726
    You must have a LOT of chloramines to have a load like that coming from the tap. I bet the untreated water reeks of bleach odor.
    How is your kh in the pond doing now that things have started to go in the right direction? Doing smaller water changes may be needed to keep the kh healthy while it all gets kicked off, but with less added at a time there would be less of an ammonia bump each time.

  5. #5
    Tosai
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    44
    I thought mine was high - I'm at about 1 ppm out of the tap right now with all the chloramines they pump in during the summer.

  6. #6
    Nisai
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    117
    Papabear, I have not tested KH in a couple of weeks (I will do so in the AM and post the numbers), but the PH has been around 7.0 to 7.5. I agree with your advice that much smaller water changes is the way to go here. I have been doing about 10% every 3-4 days. It might be better to do 2-3% daily to reduce the Ammonia load on the filter.

    Cheekylemur, I was not aware that they pump any more chloramines in the summer. Is that the case all over the country?

    BTW: Is anyone else here on EBMUD (SF Bay Area mainly Oakland, thorugh Concord, CA) water source? If so can you post your numbers?

  7. #7
    Tosai
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    44
    I don't know how widespread it is - I have Mississippi water, and the locks didn't get opened this spring. Trying to not make the flooding worse. Don't know what else is going on, but the tap water smells swampy all over town. So the water is not its best right now for me.

    We have periodic seasonal chlorination spikes depending on ag runoff to the river.

  8. #8
    MCA
    MCA is offline
    Honmei MCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    2,574
    While the ammonia in the source may be high....doen't the refill take a long time relative to the amount of water added? For me to replace 1500 hours it takes ~3.5 hours. That is plenty of time to the new water to mix into the existing water (currents from air domes) and circulate through the filters. So all that ammonia does not hit the filter and fish all at once.

    You can always use an ammonia binding dechlor such as chloramx or amquel+ when the source has significant ammonia. That should take the edge off the problem.
    Koi keeping is not a belief system; it is applied science with a touch of artistry.

  9. #9
    Nisai
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    117
    Actually MCA, when I built the pond I ended up running a 1" pvc line into the pond before the pressure regulator. It is a full pressure line -- 130 PSI --I can fill up 6,000 gallons in about 1.5 to 2 hrs!!

    I think for the next few weeks I will follow you advice and slow down the flow when water changing. That way there is more time for the Ammonia to mix in to the rest of the pond!! Thanks.

    I do use Clorama-x to treat the water, but it is only after it is added to the pond. .

  10. #10
    Daihonmei PapaBear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Davenport, Oklahoma
    Posts
    6,726
    Something to bear in mind with ammonia binders (most anyway) is the fact that they do not remove ammonia, they merely bind it in a form that does not damage your Koi. It is still present, still show up on most tests, and still must be processed by your filters. Filter stability is what you are aiming at in this situation.

Similar Threads

  1. Where to get the source water for Bakki?
    By sacicu in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10-04-2013, 05:19 PM
  2. Not taking the source water for granted
    By Tora Bora in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 08-13-2013, 12:12 PM
  3. High Source Water Ammonia Levels
    By ootyboy in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-28-2009, 09:37 AM
  4. More problems with source water!
    By bardies in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 09-18-2007, 01:50 PM
  5. High pH water source JR?
    By bardies in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 09-18-2007, 12:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Articles - Sitemap - FAQs and Rules

KB Footer Graphic
Straight from Japan... For the serious hobbyist!
All content and images copyright of: Koi-bito.com