Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New small pond design

Tosai

New small pond design

I will start by stating, we do not plan to stay at this house for more than the next 3 years.

Now that that is out of the way, I am wanting to build a bigger pond. The one that is here now is more like a water garden and is very small. I do not have enough room to make a very large pond but something in around 2000 gallons. I am new to this, so I am not trying to create champion koi here in my back yard but to have a few decent koi so that my family and I can enjoy them. I am in Indiana, so it needs to stay mostly below grown level. I have a flower garden next to my deck that the pond will go into.

It will be a natural looking pond and with that I have a few questions, I am debating concrete and block construction with some sort of sealer (epoxy or otherwise) as well as just a simple padded hole for a liner to sit inside with some rocks on top. I personally do not like the look of a pond that is just liner, if it would turn green and fast I would be all for that but I do not think that it will. I know I can get colors or the other stuff to put on concrete block builds that would be more pleasing and actually look a little more like it should be there.

I am also concerned about price, I do not want to spend much at all if I do not have to do so.

The depth is a issue as well as I can not even get a bobcat in my backyard because of a fence, so the depth is limited to what I and an occasional helper can dig.

I have all winter to figure this out and put the pond in. All of my fish are in my qt right now and will stay indoors until the spring and the new pond are finished.

Help me out by giving me the pitfalls of building this pond either way and also the unexpected costs that might go into this sort or project.

thank you all.

Tosai
    oh yeah, the biggest this can be is about 12x6.

Daihonmei