Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Pond Leak, ideas on fixing

Pond Leak, ideas on fixing

Hello I am brand new to Koi Bito.

I have about an 800 gallon pond with a rubber liner. This was my first pond build, so it doesn't have a skimmer or bottom drain. It also has a DIY bio filter and used carpet for the undelayment. I could go on and tell you more about this redneck thrown togeather pond, but I would rather talk about its leak and my ideas on how to fix it. I would apreciate any and all input. Teasing is fine, just remember I am a noob .

So for the last 4 weeks or so we have noticd a slow leak in the pond. My husband thinks we have been loosing about 10 gallons or so daily. Recently we did pond maintenance, and discovered what feels like a root between the underlayment and the pond liner. The root has a sharp bit that has created what feels like a pinhole in the liner.

So how should I fix this?

The hardest obviously is draining the pond, and taking down the liner. That way I can see exactly what is going on, remove any problems, and add or reset the underlayment needed. Patch the pin hole, refill, and I am back in business.

My husband's idea is to double the thickness of the lowest area of the pond with left over liner. This doesn't address what punctured the liner though.

We could cut a secton out of the liner (this makes me nervous) big enough to get to the problem. We then would remove the promblem and patch the liner.

So any recomendations, thoughts, or ideas?

I have alot of excess liner btw. Before we fix the leak I am going to have to build a holding tank for the fish. They are too big to go in my fry tank in the house.

Thank you very much and I look forward to hearing your replies.

Amanda

MCA
    we all started somewhere!