Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Where to put the check valve?

Where to put the check valve?

Not sure what I'm doing (as usual)...

I'm going up over the edge of the pond like here:

Aqua Art Retro-Drain - Large - Aqua Art Retro-Drain

The pump is not self priming.
    Priming pot is 3" input, 2" output.
    I plan to put a clean-out-tee in the pipe at the top of the pond wall (highest pipe level) to facilitate filling the pipe with water for priming.

In the picture at the link above, the check valve is on the pump side--outside the pond.

I'm not an engineer or good at plumbing either.

I don't get the check valve outside the pond. To me, it seems like the check valve should be inside the pond so when the pipe is filled, the water won't go back down into the pond.

Where is the proper place to put the check valve?
    ...enjoy your day!
    5500 gllns, Ultima II 4000, Tarpon 6000, 1 Multi-Cyclone Prefilter, 2 - 5500 gph pumps, 1 Retro BD, 1 skimmer, max depth 4', 5% trickle 24/7 weather permitting

eds
    Sansai
    You want the check valve just in front of the pump if the feed pipe is going over the wall so that when you turn the pump off (or even remove it) the water doesn't drain out of the loop over the wall but stays primed.

Do make sure your check valve doesn't create too much resistance though and is in a place where it's easy to get to if it gets blocked and needs cleaning.

Quote Originally Posted by Peppy View Post
    Not sure what I'm doing (as usual)...

I'm going up over the edge of the pond like here:

Aqua Art Retro-Drain-Large-Aqua Art Retro-Drain

The pump is not self priming.
    Priming pot is 3" input, 2" output.
    I plan to put a clean-out-tee in the pipe at the top of the pond wall (highest pipe level) to facilitate filling the pipe with water for priming.

In the picture at the link above, the check valve is on the pump side--outside the pond.

I'm not an engineer or good at plumbing either.