Home | About Us | Contact Us


Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: 3" or 4" for sieve?

  1. #1
    Tategoi Peppy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    497

    3" or 4" for sieve?

    HELP! (again...what's new???)

    I'm working on a sketch to show prospective landscapers my plumbing wishes.

    I ordered an aquaart retro BD. They're adaptable for 2, 3 or 4 inch pipe.

    I have a bunch of 3" stuff.

    However, I was thinking some day I might invest in a cetus sieve.

    The pipe from the retro BD will exit the pond below the water surface but near the top of the pond.

    My two questions are:
    1. does exiting below the water surface mean the sieve is gravity fed?
    2. does the sieve inlet pipe have to be 4" or will 3" work?
    Thank you in advance for you experienced and knowledgable advice!!
    ...enjoy your day!
    5500 gllns, Ultima II 4000, Tarpon 6000, 1 Multi-Cyclone Prefilter, 2 - 5500 gph pumps, 1 Retro BD, 1 skimmer, max depth 4', 5% trickle 24/7 weather permitting

  2. #2
    MCA
    MCA is offline
    Honmei MCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    2,574
    does the sieve inlet pipe have to be 4" or will 3" work?

    at what target flow rate? those two pipe sizes will have different gravity flow rate per length of pipe.

  3. #3
    Tategoi Peppy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    497
    Weeeel, you're talking over my head.

    The pump is 5500 gph.

    Do I need to measure the length of pipe too? There will be a couple elbows in it.

  4. #4
    eds
    eds is offline
    Sansai
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Nottingham, UK
    Posts
    179
    If I've got this right you have a retro bottom drain feeding into a sieve. The water is then pumped out of the sieve onto your bio section?

    If so then that sounds like you are gravity fed into the sieve (as there is no pump pumping water into the sieve, just gravity trying to equalise the water levels). Feeding a filter by gravity at that rate you will need 2, 4" pipes! I'm planning to return from a shower by gravity on my new pond and am planning to use 4, 3" pipes to generate some flow! If you were pumping and sucking or pushing the water through the pipe then you might get away with a 3" pump feed but I'd still go for 4" at that flow rate!

  5. #5
    Tategoi Peppy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    497
    YOWZA!!! My dream of the sieve is fading...

    So maybe 2 bottom drains at some point. The one is actually doing the job for now. I'm anxious to see if it will continue doing the job when feeding increases.

  6. #6
    Fry
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2
    I think 3 is the best option.....

  7. #7
    Sansai
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    bay area ,ca
    Posts
    283
    With 5500gl/h i think you need 4" inlet and 2.5 to 3" outlet.

  8. #8
    Sansai MysticKoi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Posts
    237
    The maximum flow rate for a Cetus connected to a single 4" main drain is 4750 gph.

    Bill

Similar Threads

  1. Tosai "baby" koi vs tiny "bonsai" koi
    By RayJordan in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 07-31-2014, 07:29 PM
  2. "Behind the Sieve"
    By Torito in forum Pond Construction
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-17-2010, 02:14 PM
  3. Is "Jumbo" as misused as "Tategoi"?
    By Lam Nguyen in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-16-2008, 03:15 PM
  4. Judging Koi: "On The Day" vs "Quality"
    By MikeM in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 07-03-2008, 04:02 AM
  5. SD koi show "" YOU WRITE THE CAPTION""
    By keokoi in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 02-23-2007, 11:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Articles - Sitemap - FAQs and Rules

KB Footer Graphic
Straight from Japan... For the serious hobbyist!
All content and images copyright of: Koi-bito.com