Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Constant backwashing

Fry

Constant backwashing

Hello All,
    Help please!
    12 weeks ago I had a Koi pond constructed in my garden; this is my first time keeping Koi. I ran the filters for 4 weeks before I introduced Koi. During that 4 week period the waterfall would slow down and the pressure gauge on the media filter would climb from 10 PSI to 20 PSI every 2 days. At this point I would backwash, the gauge would return to 10 PSI and the waterfall back to full flow.
    After the introduction of 14 Koi, ranging from 4” -12” over a period of 2 weeks, thread algae grew on the sides of the pond. When in filter mode the water appears to be very clear but the frequency of the backwashing has increased slowly over time, so that now if I backwash for 5 minutes everything returns to normal but only for about 4 hours when the process has to be repeated. As I can’t be there to do that all the time I have to run on recirculation mode and then you can see algae floating in the water, if I leave it on filter mode it (the waterfall) comes to a stop.
    I live in a very warm climate, todays temperature was 38 degrees and rising, although the pond is only exposed to direct sunlight for about 2 hours a day.
    Is it a case of controlling the algae and if so how should I do that? Isn’t the UV light intended for that purpose, or is the light to small?
    Sorry for the long question - Thanks
    Details of the pond are
    · Approximately 14000 litres
    · Concrete construction
    · 2 bottom drains
    · 1 skimmer
    · Pump Aquatight Pinnacle P450
    · Aquatight C 600 media filter
    · Bio filter brand not known (same size as media filter)
    · UV light Delta UV model ES-5-240
    Kevin
    Last edited by Koiski; 04-26-2011 at 12:26 AM. Reason: Incorrect Information 14000 litres not 1400 gallons

Quote Originally Posted by Koiski View Post
    Hello All,