Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Filter media order?

Filter media order?

Hello,

i need some advice on my concrete block built filter. It is rectangular shape 9 feet long x 2 feet wide and 2 feet deep. It has four compartments first one is empty which is settling tank.

I have plenty of media and i need help in which order i should put filter media in.

I have 8 matala mats, 2 of each color, 2 big mesh begs with 1 1/2 inch bio balls and 2 mesh bags with Savio springflo bio ribon.

To get best performance out of this since i am not an expert i need your help please.

Thanks in advance

Tategoi
    Bio-filters don't need differing sizes to be effective. For mats, Jmats are a good sizing with plenty of support for bacteria but adequate room for oxygen to make it to the end of the mats w/o the bacteria depleting it first. The black mat ls is good for that but has less surface area for bacteria.

Can't say enough about bio balls, they're great. I haven't used Springflow myself but it's considered very good by lots of people.

Oxygen is the most important thing to keep in mind, Too many people think fine mats & such are great but I don't like them because they deplete oxygen leaving the rest of the filter w/o near saturation and bacterial waste stay's in the mat until you clean it yourself.

Quote Originally Posted by LeonB View Post
    Hello,

i need some advice on my concrete block built filter. It is rectangular shape 9 feet long x 2 feet wide and 2 feet deep. It has four compartments first one is empty which is settling tank.

I have plenty of media and i need help in which order i should put filter media in.

I have 8 matala mats, 2 of each color, 2 big mesh begs with 1 1/2 inch bio balls and 2 mesh bags with Savio springflo bio ribon.

To get best performance out of this since i am not an expert i need your help please.

Thanks in advance