Home | About Us | Contact Us


Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: What Is the Right Way to Use K1 Media?

  1. #1
    Oyagoi yerrag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    1,792

    What Is the Right Way to Use K1 Media?

    I got my k1 media and now I couldn't figure the best way to use it as a static media filter. I drew up a few designs. Can you tell me which of the 3 designs is best in capturing fines? Or none of the below?
    ?Attachment 40089

  2. #2
    MCA
    MCA is offline
    Honmei MCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    2,574
    Invalid Attachment specified. If you followed a valid link, please notify the administrator



    check your attachment

  3. #3
    Oyagoi yerrag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    1,792
    Thanks Mike. Looks like a problem with the server.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails What Is the Right Way to Use K1 Media?-img_20141028_121039.jpg  

  4. #4
    Oyagoi yerrag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    1,792
    Hmm... Funny, the image is now attached to my reply to your post without my intending to.

  5. #5
    MCA
    MCA is offline
    Honmei MCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    2,574
    A will be a lot easier to clean with a good blast of air tumbling the chamber for a couple of minutes then dumping the chamber. Same concept as in Nexus or retro fitting a vortex for static bed.

  6. #6
    Oyagoi yerrag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    1,792
    Thanks Mike. So would this design be suitable:What Is the Right Way to Use K1 Media?-img_20141029_105731794.jpg

  7. #7
    Oyagoi yerrag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    1,792
    This is better. Sorry I had to strain your neck.

    What Is the Right Way to Use K1 Media?-img_20141029_105731794-2.jpg

  8. #8
    MCA
    MCA is offline
    Honmei MCA's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    2,574
    Looks OK. Don't fill the chamber more than 1/2 with K1 or it could be a problem to get it to fluidize.

    From my long experience with Nexus I would say static K1 dos not do as good a job as a sieve. But I can understand going this route if you already have the chamber and K1 or knockoff.

  9. #9
    Oyagoi yerrag's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Manila, Philippines
    Posts
    1,792
    Thanks again Mike. I have yet to find a 250micron wedge wire for my sieve. There will be room for it if and when I get one.

Similar Threads

  1. Kaldnes K1 Media
    By e4gler4y in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11-11-2011, 09:27 AM
  2. TT Media types
    By Bill Putnam in forum Pond Construction
    Replies: 45
    Last Post: 08-25-2008, 12:59 AM
  3. What shower media do you use?
    By kntry in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 02-24-2008, 02:59 AM
  4. Shower Media
    By Birdman in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 01-22-2008, 10:58 PM
  5. filter media...what do you use and why?
    By kevan in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 10-19-2005, 02:29 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Articles - Sitemap - FAQs and Rules

KB Footer Graphic
Straight from Japan... For the serious hobbyist!
All content and images copyright of: Koi-bito.com