Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Proper type of concrete question

Fry

Proper type of concrete question

I need to use concrete to create some forms. Specifically, I have a box made of concrete block for a section of a settlement chamber, and need to use concrete to change its interior shape to a cylinder, and the bottom to a vortex shape. The job is way too small to hire a professional gunite injection, so I am wondering if there isn't a proper mix of concrete that I can manually work the surface. Are there any experts out there that can advise me?

Thanks!

Regards,
    Todd

I am not a concrete expert.

Are you trying to "stucco" the inside of concrete block? or it sounds like you need to "pour" more concrete to make a cylinder with cone shape sloping bottom.

If true, and not hiring a gunite professional, then you will need to build a form and fill with a concrete mixture (rock, sand, cement). A "six-sack" mixture is what I would use.

You might consider using a section of large concrete pipe.

I have a plastic water tank I will sell you cheap!

If you need a guide on setting up the cone, check out this video starting at around the 6 minute mark:
    https://youtu.be/39xT5xzNu3s

There is a formula that you have to look for, from which you use to cut a piece of plastic to use to form the vortex bottom using concrete. Good luck. And when you find the formula, please post. I didn't get that far since it was something I have no pressing need for now.

Fry
    Quote Originally Posted by yerrag View Post
    If you need a guide on setting up the cone, check out this video starting at around the 6 minute mark:
    https://youtu.be/39xT5xzNu3s

There is a formula that you have to look for, from which you use to cut a piece of plastic to use to form the vortex bottom using concrete. Good luck. And when you find the formula, please post. I didn't get that far since it was something I have no pressing need for now.