Home | About Us | Contact Us


Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 14 of 14

Thread: ideal cement wall thickness

  1. #11
    Nisai Charlespear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Key West Fl.
    Posts
    54

    Cast contrete

    I've cast 4 ponds, 6 inch walls. 2-5 thousand gallons. And now a small (1000) QT pond, 4 inch walls. But, I screwed up, Russ, is right. Code says 3" on each side of Rebar. I'am sure mine will outlive its usfulness, but someday dampness will rust the rebar and crack the concrete.

  2. #12
    Jumbo Steve Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    994
    Mike,

    will do 39" wide and cut 48" into 2'. so the dimensions will be something around 39"W x 3'D x 6'L. I need to re-calculate to get the exact Length before building it.

    thanks,

    Steve

    Quote Originally Posted by koiczar
    Steve

    You mention that the filter MUST be 3x3x6ft and that you plan on using Matala mat(glad to see you took Russell and I up on our suggestion). Matala mat measures 39" x 48". If you are making forms and mixing/pouring your own concrete why not make the inside dimension the same as the Matala? Also, I am assuming your measurements given are 3'W x 6'L x 3'deep?! Or is it to be 3'L x 3'W x 6'deep? How much Matala mat are you planning on using?

    Mike

  3. #13
    Jumbo Steve Nguyen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Bay Area, CA
    Posts
    994
    Good info, Russ!

    I plan to pour concrete for filter chambers and liner for pond. hopefully, it works out.

    Steve

    Quote Originally Posted by Russell Peters
    Please note that whatever thickness you go on your walls, code requires 3" of cover on either side of the rebar, so that your minimum thickness should be 6". This is so that the rebar will be protected from moisture and not rust. You can go thinner on your wall, but if your rebar rusts and expands, it will crack your walls.

    Russ

  4. #14
    Honmei
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Martinez,CA
    Posts
    4,611
    Quote Originally Posted by Minster49
    When you are using cement and/or bricks in a pond...is there a risk of something within the cement or brick that could runoff in the water and be harmful to the fish?
    Not if you seal it properly.

    Russ

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. mud pond_clay thickness
    By pskorf in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-17-2012, 12:29 AM
  2. Waterproofing cement block
    By ostrich in forum Pond Construction
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 11-06-2010, 04:21 AM
  3. sealers for rock and cement ponds.
    By msmoon in forum Pond Construction
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 04-28-2010, 10:27 AM
  4. water seal between new and old wall
    By jckoi in forum Main Forum
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-15-2009, 01:48 AM
  5. cement block question
    By nguyen4 in forum Pond Construction
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-06-2008, 10:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Articles - Sitemap - FAQs and Rules

KB Footer Graphic
Straight from Japan... For the serious hobbyist!
All content and images copyright of: Koi-bito.com