Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: 3000 Gal pond

3000 Gal pond

Tell me if this will work correctly...

This is a 12x7x5 pond design... I need to know the size pvc I will need, and if my filtration will work... I would guess I need a pump that will move like 6000 gph...

http://www.geocities.com/johnblochd/Pond.jpg

suggestions on a pump and filter designs/filters? I really have no clue what to look for... any help is appreciated!

ps. I decided not to do my quarinteen pond first, as it will hinder my cash for the main pond... I might build a quaranteen pond eventually, but I'm planning on using big filtered containers (i'm not planning on importing full sized fish into my pond)
    1-Ginrin Kohaku
    1-Ginrin Sanke
    1-Harry Potter (ask me about him...)

Bump...

bumpity bumpity bump...

don't give up yet

John,

ok, what's harry potter?

I am not an expert but let me try

your 12x7x5 will give you a 4450 gals size pond. filter should be around 10 - 15% of pond size so that works out to be something in between 445 to 667 gals. of course, this it really depends on your fish load and weather you use bead filters or bio chamber filled with media such as matala/japanese mats or combo of bead and media or some other media in poly barrels.

based on your drawing, if those 3 filters are 55 gals barrels, it's might not be sufficient as your fish grow say 3 yrs from now and beyond. also, I would think the pump will likely to starve of water if its intake only come from 3rd barrel. check out my new pond design to see if it's something you want to consider http://koi-bito.com/forum/showthread.php?t=4669