Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Filter help

Filter help

hi guys! i am a total noob to filtration but i have a 3000 gal pond with a 4 kois that are about 5 inches long. now my question is, i am building a new filter and i heard bioballs are good but i cant afford them. so can lava rocks replace the bio balls? is there anything else i can use instead of bioballs that are reasonably cheaper?

this is the filter i will be building.

TIA!

Since you have room for two barrels, use one of them solely for mechanical filtration and the other solely for bio filtration. I would also consider using something other than filter pads since they would be hard to clean. If you're using shaved PVC for biofiltration, you can also use that for static mechanical filtration. It would be easier to clean than the filter pads.

Regardless of the media used, you must increase the size of the pipe connecting the two tanks. 1" will be way too small. Either you would not be able to move enough water or would have a huge drawdown. 1" pipe would only allow about 200gph with a 1" drop. 2" pipe would give you about 800 gph, 3" ~1600pgh and 4" pipe would move around 3200gph with a 1" drop between tanks.

-Dan

so i would only put filter pads into one barrel and with the other just bioballs or lava rock?

[quote=dirrtybirdy;80631]hi guys! i am a total noob to filtration but i have a 3000 gal pond with a 4 kois that are about 5 inches long. now my question is, i am building a new filter and i heard bioballs are good but i cant afford them. so can lava rocks replace the bio balls? is there anything else i can use instead of bioballs that are reasonably cheaper?