Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Pond Liner Question

Smile Pond Liner Question

Hello,

I'm new to pond building, but have some recently gained experience in brick-laying, mortaring, and pvc glueing...

My pond's cement floor has cured for 30 days and I am ready to line/waterproof it. I purchased enough pond armor to do the job, but am curious about the cement mixture I should use to fill in holes and give it a smooth texture before I apply the pond armor. Should I just use the same mortar mix I used between my cinderblocks? Or is there a better alternative out there?

My pond pics are located on my website at http://hoggdogg.com/koi Thanks in advance for your help!

~Ryan H.

[quote=rshogg;82539]Hello,

I'm new to pond building, but have some recently gained experience in brick-laying, mortaring, and pvc glueing...

My pond's cement floor has cured for 30 days and I am ready to line/waterproof it. I purchased enough pond armor to do the job, but am curious about the cement mixture I should use to fill in holes and give it a smooth texture before I apply the pond armor. Should I just use the same mortar mix I used between my cinderblocks? Or is there a better alternative out there?

You will have to parge your pond , I contacted a building supply who sold me the ingredients for parging it was a mortar mix with extra cemment added and a white parging compound as well as Albitol which is a cemmment sealer I used about 3 gal of that mixed with water . After seven years no problems
    Regards
    Eugene

Tosai
    Hi,

This is a VERY timely thread. I am also a "newbie". I am still in the planning/design stage (currently working on filtration layouts/alternatives and will be posting questions a little later) but I've pretty much decided to go with cement/gunnite, using Pond Armour as a sealant/liner.