Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New member-New Questions

Fry

New member-New Questions

Hi Everyone,

My name is Karen & I live in PA.

I've had my current pond for 10 years now, and the time has come to upgrade to a larger pond.

I am by no means a professional, but a learn as I go type.

The reason for the upgrade is of course bigger is better. I want to be able to keep koi healthy and have them grow as large as possible.

I have the room for a very large pond, but don't have the finances to do that and do it correctly so I was thinking of a pond 12 x 12 x 5 or 12 x 20 x5.

Would koi grow nice a big in a pond this size?

I have many many more questions, but this will be my starting point.

Thank you in advance for any and all input into helping me build my dream pond.

To grow koi large and healthy involves more than just the size of the pond. It also involves having excellent filtration.

12x20x5 would give you approximately 9000 gallons. That's a great start. Deeper is better if you can go deeper.

Be sure to put aerated bottom drains, skimmer and TPR's.

This is a start.

Fry
    Go easy on this newbie with the lingo LOL

What is TPRs?

As for the size would it benefit koi to go deeper and smaller?
    Say 10 x 12 x 6?

Sorry. LOL

TPR - Tangential Pond Return - These are pipes that enter the pond about mid level at a 45* angle returning water from the filters. This gives a "toilet bowl" rotation to help carry debris to the bottom drains and also gives a current to exercise the koi.

I don't know much about cold weather, I'm La. But you need depth during the winter so the koi can have a place to get out of the colder water.

I forgot to mention earlier that stocking levels also plays a huge role. If you want females, 1 female per 1000 gallons, males would be ok at 1 per 500 gallons.

Fry

Talking

Thanks for the explanations. I learned something new today LOL.