Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: W. Lim's pre-formed Koi Pond

Tosai

W. Lim's pre-formed Koi Pond

Has anyone out there purchased this product? 1500 gal poly, 1/4 inch thick, 81" x 149" x 48 "; the price is $2290.00, plus $500.00 for shipping to my residence. It includes: bottom drain, 2 venturi jets, and a skimmer. I think my 100 gal skippy filter would be acceptable for this pond. Any comments would be appreciated....remember, I'm a rookie with 3 rescued "pups". Thank you for your time.

MCA
    lotta money for something so small

What type of pond (koi or water garden) do you want ...and what size in gallons...or how many koi do you want to keep?

Tosai
    I guess I wasn't clear in my paragraph. I have (3) "rescued koi, sizes in length: 12", 12" & 8". I don't want anymore. I like to keep things simple. I have an understanding of the differences in ponds. I would like a "koi pond", that's intended to sustain the lively hood of koi. "How many gallons?", I don't know.....Right now my koi are in a 300 gallon horse trough, and it's just temporary until I can either construct something else, or purchase the W. Lim (if it's worthwhile). I thought the W. Lim pond would be the fastest as far as installation and implementation. Thank you for responding.

for the number of fish you want to keep, that pond will be OK. The problem I see though is that you want to use a skippy. A skippy filter is usually pump fed. The pump sits in the bottom of the pond and pushes water to the filter, and it gravity flows back into the pond. The shell you are looking at has bottom drains. Bottom drains are fantastic, but work best when you can gravity feed a filter from them and pump back to the pond.