Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Help me design an efficient but small filtration system for my pond

Help me design an efficient but small filtration system for my pond

Please?

Here's the deal and scenario. Two years ago I installed a bottom drain, aerated with a 20x25 liner to get a 9x13x4 foot deep (sloping to 4 feet) pond. I have a skimmer. I have a filter pit. Skimmer is that Laguna large style skimmer that can hold brushes, baskets and such. Filter pit is small, because, well, I don't have much space. It actually ended up bigger than I planned for, because, well, I wanted it to.

My bottom drain, 4", feeds into the filter pit right behind the pond. It goes through a 4" ball valve, to a 55 gallon barrel. This barrel is fitted with an Answer 325. This feeds through a 3" line to the 30 gallon blue barrell, upflowing with K1, fitted with an air diffuser. I have a pondmaster AP40 airpump on this. This then feeds to a Sequence 5800 pump...way too big of a pump for my system, but this was on purpose. I have a ball valve following that, that goes into an Aqua 58 watt UV, then to a Laguna filter falls that usually has quilt batting and some japanese style filtration matts that do well with polishing.

But, here's the deal. As the bottom drain has seperated from the liner, I have convinced the lovely wife to let me buy a new bottom drain, and a new 25x30 liner to fix it. I plan on removing the old skimmer and putting in a small skimmer that can feed to a leaf basket primer to a Sequence 3600 gph pump in the filter pit. I have the bottom drain already as a friend bought it for me. Nothing fancy, just a 4" bottom drain. I'd like to have that 3600 gph pump pump to the water fall Laguna filter. It does a solid job with fines.