Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Koi Parasite Identity

Fry
    Post Thanks / Like

Unhappy Koi Parasite Identity

I'm really new to my Koi attraction, moved into a place that had neglected Koi ponds, rarely fed, so I started taking care of them, the pond that the Koi's were in, was in the front yard, right next to the side walk, for all passers by, to poke and prod at. Since, the Koi were so afraid of Humans, I moved four of them out of a stinky mud pond into a clean one, obvious mistake, well filtered, shaded, but now they are human friendly, eat out of my hand, have 4 Koi in a pond about 600 gallons, the Koi are small compared to some of these I have seen, only 10 to 12 inches. But now they have some sort of parasite, under tail fin, looks, like a little B.B. a little bloody, some of the bump is bright red, so I assume this is blood, and it appears to have a tiny very thin white thread attached to the bump under the tail fin. Can I get some advise, please, I thank you in advance....
    New User
    Tammy
    Last edited by tdavies73; 07-19-2010 at 02:48 PM. Reason: spelling

Post Thanks / Like
    Can you post a pic? It sounds like an anchor worm but without actually seeing it, it's hard to tell.

You can also Google Anchor Worm pic and see if that's what it looks like. If it is, you can carefully remove it with a pair of tweezers and put some Peroxide on the wound. If your water quality is good, not just clear, the fish will heal. Do you have plants in the pond?

If you have one anchor worm, there will probably be more but lets decide if that's the problem first.
    The views expressed above are my own personal views and, as such, do not necessarily reflect the views of the AKCA or the KHA program.
    SANDY

Fry
    Post Thanks / Like

thanks

I'll do that now...

Fry
    Post Thanks / Like

Cool thanks Kntry