Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Carp Pox

Sansai
    Post Thanks / Like

Carp Pox

Hi all,
    I wonder if anybody can help me on this subject. I know that carp-pox causes no harm to the fish but just makes the fish look ugly. Is carp-pox treatable? Does it make the fish disqualify?
    thx
    TK
    :roll:

Post Thanks / Like
    I have no personal experience with carp pox. I'm sure somebody else can be of greater assistance. Until they jump in, here's what I know/believe. (Subject to being corrected.) . Based on my reading, the preferred treatment is to raise water temperature to 85+F and keep it warm until the hard waxy areas subside. Some report complete eradication and no repeat infection when water cools if the heat is continued for 4-6 weeks.

A similar infection is lymphocystis, which apparently looks similar but the lesions are soft (?). It is supposed to be treated with heat as well, but there is a "neutral acriflavine" (whatever that is) that is supposed to help. Aquarium Pharmaceuticals had a product to treat lymphocystis. It might be available at aquarium mail order supply houses. ... maybe Dr. Smith & Foster or That Fish Place have it? ... they both have websites. Both of these are viruses, so I'm not so sure any medication will do any good.

But, are you sure it's carp pox? From what I've read, carp pox is mostly seen in cold climates. The whitish raised areas are in the fins? If on the head, then consider hikkui maybe? Also, if the whitish areas of infection in the fins is in streaks, then I'd be thinking more of a bacterial fin rot that is just getting started. First thing then is to clean out all debris in the pond & filters where bacteria can lurk and check all water parameters, do water changes.