Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Noob with a pump question?

Tosai
    Post Thanks / Like

Noob with a pump question?

Hello everyone as the subject says I'm a noob to raising nishikigoi. Let me tell you a little about my situation, I recently bought a home that already had a pond in the backyard with one (8"Utsuri mono) that survived the attack of a blue heron while my home was in escrow for 30 days, and I also have about a hundred small mosquito fish as well. The pond is roughly 650 Gallons (10'x6'x19"). The filtration system consist of a Pondlife External Biological Filter (2000 Gallon) with some large water lillies and some lemon grass. I've since bought two 8" Kohaku's for some company for my survivor (He is really happy now ). As you may of guessed my pond is experiencing the all too famous green water effect because I'm getting tired of doing the frequent water changes to maintain clear water,so I bought a Fishmate UV + Bio Pond Filters (2000 Gallon) and hope to get some more water plants soon. But I'm a little confused on which pump to buy due to the choices in flow rate. The pump I'm currently using is a fairly large Rio and the one I'm planning on getting is a EG Danner 950 that is rated at 950 gallons per hour. Is this the correct flow rate pump for my application because I've read time and time agin to always get more than you actually need? I really need advise from those that are more experineced than me. Also did I calculate the right amount of gallons in my pond 650?
    Thanks in advance

Sansai
    Post Thanks / Like
    Hi patdow1,