Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: Showa selection - please help.

Post Thanks / Like

Showa selection - please help.

Hi guys you be the koi judge. Please help me select the best Showa from my three homebreds. What do you think? Which one should I keep? Why?
    Quinton

https://youtu.be/n73x-IBmH8o

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Post Thanks / Like
    I am not an expert. It is my understanding that, with homebred Showas, it is all about body conformation and beni quality.
    I see body shape concerns and can't evaluate the beni quality.

Post Thanks / Like
    I'm in agreement with ricshaw, the body's of all of these are short, paticularly in the back half of the koi. I also see some 'pigeon breast' conditions, where the chest is bulky and loaded toward the front. Like ricshaw, I am no expert, nor have I any breeding experience, but my limited understanding is that this might be attributed to nutrition at a particular stage of development.

My answer on which to keep would depend on the purpose for keeping. As a breeder, you look long term and try to pull the qualities you want from one koi and try to pass those into future generations. If the intent is for personal enjoyment- well that's up to you. Personally, I couldn't live with the smaller two, as they have conformation issues that I couldn't over look every day. I think 'B' is the best candidate as koi to be proud of.
    Tim

Post Thanks / Like