Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Koi Pond

Fry
    Post Thanks / Like

Koi Pond

i am planning to build a koi pond soon but i have a lot of worries since i am a newbie when it comes to building ponds and their respective filtration system.

the size of the pond that i am building is 13' 10'' long, 4' 5'' wide and 4' deep. So my first question is, how many gallons does this kind of pond have? (sorry i don't know how to calculate this) second question i'm worried that once i get my pond started my electric bills would go up, i mean i'd rather spend money on koi's and koi food rather than electricity, so what's the best type of filtration should i use? third...kind of pump i should buy? fourth....fifth...do i have to put oxygen pumps aside from the submersible pumps that most people use?

please help me....

Jason.

Post Thanks / Like
    Hi Jason,

The pond will be about 1470gls and you will need as big a filter as you can get or fit in.If you can try to keep all the pumps external from the pond and yes air pumps are a good thing.Don't worry about the costs unfortunatly once you get going in this hobbey money just seems to go and go and go weather you have it or not lol

Gazza

Tosai
    Post Thanks / Like

koi pond

Dear jackass
    Going off your dimensions your pond will be about 1600 gallons which i am afraid in my mind is not big enough to keep koi properly,i think koi need at least 3000 gallons and a depth more like six foot.
    A size of 12 foot X 8 foot X 6 feet deep aquates to 3600 gallons if of course you have the room.In which you could keep about seven koi.
    Yes you are correct about your electricity bills going up,also your water bill wiil go up lots as well.as quoted lots of times before its not a cheap hobby.
    I have a pond of 9500 gallons which is gas heated and this costs at a rough guess arond £100.00 a month, in gas, electric and water