Home | About Us | Contact Us

Koi Forum - Koi-Bito Magazine straight from Japan

Thread: white quality

Fry
    Post Thanks / Like

white quality

Hi!
    I am new to this hobby, I keep koi for over 2 years and still have a lot to learn. I have a question , hope that you all can help. Recently, I came across several 2 year old koi, they look very nice the problem is the white skin is yellowish. I was told that if the koi is female later the skin will turn white. I know that those koi were breed from very well known breeder in Japan. Any opinion will be very appreciated.
    Thanks

Toro.

Tategoi
    Post Thanks / Like
    Males tend to have yellower heads that remain that way as they get older. Some females will have yellower heads when young but the white comes up as they get older.

It is a matter of the color thickening. Water quality and food quality also helps.

Look to the body first, then to the quality of the skin, then to the quality of the color, then to the attractiveness of the pattern...

And remember, the best you can hope for is that you get what you pay for.

Post Thanks / Like
    jason's done a pretty good job of filling you in on the options. I can also add that sometimes just out of a mudpond, a face can be colored. Also water quality

can have some affect.

Tategoi
    Post Thanks / Like
    Keen. Some of this learnin' must be sinking in.

Fry
    Post Thanks / Like

white quality

Thanks for responding. Those two years old koi about 17" or 18". but the whole body is yellowish. I wonder whether the skin will turn white when the koi reach maturity.

Post Thanks / Like
    Toro: I do not think anyone is going to be able to give you a reliable answer. If experienced eyes see the koi in person, then there might be a willingness to hazard a guess. But, it would be a guess, albeit an educated one.